Running Shoe problems!

For awhile now I’ve struggled with picking out the right pair of running shoes. I got into minimal running about a year ago and I thoroughly enjoy it. However, it does have it’s downsides. 

Image

I own the New Balance Minimus Trail zero. Weighing in at only 4.4 ounces, it’s lighter than the lightest track shoes. Despite having the looks and being extremely light, the shoes have terrible wear and tear. Asides from all of the specs Minimal shoes have their downsides. On my daily runs I do not stretch, simply because I feel no need to. At this point I experience some occasional lower back pain after my runs. My only problem while running in my old, fully cushioned Asics was that I literally felt like I was picking up a five pound weight on each foot, thus resulting in me getting into minimal running. So in attempt to resolve these problems, I will be looking to invest in some road shoes from New Balance’s Minimal line. 

Image

While I am not sure the MINIMUS 10V2 are the solution to my problems, they’re defiantly the step in the right direction. If I’ve learned anything over the years, it’s that everyone doesn’t run the same or is biomedically engineered (Born to Run insider) the same. But what we do have in common is that we all aspire to find he proper gear to make our runs more fun and efficient.

 

How do you select your shoes? Have you found you’re perfect pair?

6 comments on “Running Shoe problems!

  1. Why not just go barefoot? There’s no better way to learn how your body wants to move, it’s much harder to overdo it while transitioning to proper running form (as in the beginning, your skin will tire faster than the rest of you will), you don’t need to spend any money, and it’s fantastic being able to feel the ground under you.

    • That sounds easier said than done. While I have run on an indoor track barefoot, I like having minimal shoes for protection. I also want New Balance’s zero drop shoes because I don’t want to much pressure on my back.

  2. I had some serious running shoes issues too! I just recently changed to Newtons, which for me are absolutely phenomenal 🙂 I run longer, faster, and have no pain in my feet, making my runs worry free and fun 🙂 happy trails!

  3. Have you ever explored being “fitted” for running shoes at a specialty running store? Or, if there are stores near you that host events from major shoe manufacturers, you can usually test a pair on a group run. That’s how I found my Mizuno’s that I love, love, love. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

