How I run?

From what I’ve learned there are two types of runners. One type I like to call externally driven, another is, you guessed it internally driven. Lets start with the external runner. The typical external runner listens to music while they run, uses modernized technology to keep track of miles and calories. These variables help build up the adrenaline that make the miles go by relatively quickly. So generally I mentally picture this

Grasslands-Marathon

You can see that the music in the man’s ears is what’s keeping the agony at a tolerable level and the man behind appears to be checking his watch.

Now while music and high tech gadgets motivate while providing you the information you need to know about your run, they take away from the true experience. Now you might be questioning and saying, the running experience isn’t the most pleasant, its full of heavy breathing , and leg pain. Exactly! The true essence of the sport is inclusive of over coming all of those obstacles. Music is not suppose to repress the pain you are facing, your mind should be doing that. By learning to overcome the pain and block it out you can not only become a better runner but you can also discover the great mental strength that you have. I read a funny quote that said, “Long distance running is 90% mental and the other half is physical.” This idea brings me to the second type of runner, the internally driven. In short, this runner runs with just the essentials. To me the essentials are shoes, a shirt(during the winter) and shorts. When talking about running with just “The essentials” I am basically saying run with the things that you consider necessities (e.g. water, hat), so these are the things that allow you to experience everything that comes with running. Now this time I would picture exactly this

Anton_krupickaThis man is Anton Krupicka, he is one of my favorite ultra marathoners, which I will talk about soon.

An internal runner experiences the trail, road or pavement that he/she is running on. They will evolve to overcome the pain, which will later help them in many parts of their life, whether it’s having a clear though process or being efficient at school/work. Now let me remind you that this is a lot more challenging than it sounds. However, if one is willing to try out this technique they will reap what they have sowed. So Enjoy your runs! Feel free to try it out for yourselves and I look forward to hearing from you.

I personally consider myself a internal runner. Tell me ,what type of runner you are and why?

14 comments on “How I run?

  1. I started as an external runner. But I am becoming an internal runner. Music is nice, but I hate getting tangled up in the headphones. And, especially in the city, off any courses, I want to be safe and aware of my surroundings so I like running without it. And I even have recently purchased a little cheap pedometer to take with me so that I can leave my distracting phone at home. It’s probably safer to bring it with me, but it takes away from the experience.

    I like seeing, hearing, and feeling everything going on. I’ve missed out on life the passed few months, running seems to be the one part of it that I have control over. I choose how fast I go, where I go, when I go, and when I need to stop and walk it out for a minute.

    Why use music or more electronics than that pedometer and my watch that never leavesy wrist to distract from the experience?

  2. I started as an external runner. But I am becoming an internal runner. Music is nice, but I hate getting tangled up in the headphones. And, especially in the city, off any courses, I want to be safe and aware of my surroundings so I like running without it. And I even have recently purchased a little cheap pedometer to take with me so that I can leave my distracting phone at home. It’s probably safer to bring it with me, but it takes away from the experience. I don’t even like taking my water bottle backpack with me. The straps rub on my arms and it gets annoying.

    I like seeing, hearing, and feeling everything going on. I’ve missed out on life the passed few months, running seems to be the one part of it that I have control over. I choose how fast I go, where I go, when I go, and when I need to stop and walk it out for a minute.

    Why use music or more electronics than that pedometer and my watch that never leavesy wrist to distract from the experience?

    • Awesome, that’s what I’m talking about! I understand how running in the city might not be as fun or safe as running in the country but by you being able run with just the essentials you gain a lot more than you think.

  3. I used to be an external runner, when I had just started out running, but last year when I PROPERLY started doing long distance, I went internal, and that was when running became RUNNING, because I got to completely understand my surroundings. Even today when I run, I’m always aware of the sounds of wind, cars and such, and I use to be my “suppressor”

  4. When I first started running, I used music so I didn’t have to hear my ‘I’m about to die’ breathing! Now I’m a stronger runner, and we’ve moved to the countryside, I like to listen to the birds, the silence and my now steadier breathing. I also have to run on roads with no pavements, so I need to be alert for traffic. I now have friends to run with, so running and chatting makes the miles pass by so quickly! I’ve never enjoyed running as much as I have in the last 6 months, and it gets more enjoyable every time I go out πŸ™‚

  5. I can be both, but the emphasis is more internal. I never, ever race with music but I do wear my Garmin as I’m a bit of a stats freak. I sometimes do longer training runs with my iPod, but even then I often run with just one ear piece as I like to be fully aware of my surroundings. Going internal is definitely the only way to go when you’re running somewhere really beautiful, or challenging, or new (to you) – why would you want to dilute that experience? πŸ™‚

  6. Well when I ran, and legs won’t let me anymore, I was external the whole way. I did not run without music, or not that far. I started with an old Walkman, then a disc man then the iPod!

    Now I bike, and it depends on the ride. For my normal training routes, that I have seen time and time again, I use the earbuds. But for a new route, especially if it takes me into the mountains and forests, or to the oceans, I want to hear me sounds around me. When I Ike’s the OR coast I used the earbuds only once, the last day, when the last 10 miles of the entire ride were kicking my butt.

    Good post!

  7. Pingback: How do I Know Biking is Right for Me? | 10000 Miles of Advice

Leave a Reply

