Running Hiatus.

These past three weeks I haven’t been running. It was mainly because I didn’t have time and I needed a break. It’s because I thought since I will start some intense training in June, I might as well take a breather. Needless to say these few weeks I have felt deprived of what I love to do. Even though I chose for things to be this way, it raised the concern of when should a runner take some time off. I know there are people out there that do some hardcore training year round and manage to go injury free. Image

I have yet to suffer from some serious injury but that’s probably because I have some down time for my body to recover. However I would love to be the type that runs year round and enjoys every season. For now, I will countdown the days until I start up my running again. I can’t really have blog post when I’m not running because that is when I am the least creative.

 

Therefore, I want to pose the question: Are you a year round runner? When would it be the right time to take a break from the sport?

14 comments on “Running Hiatus.

  1. Lately, I’ve picked a goal race and afterwards took the time off. My goal race is what I’m training so hard for that by the time it comes (and even sometimes before) I’m so burnt out from planning all of my workouts to target my race that I just… can’t handle it anymore and I need a break. I tend to cross train, or still run when I feel like it but aimlessly, somewhere beautiful, and at whatever pace feels good.

    I wish I could run year ’round too!

  2. I am trying to be a year round runner (I actually do not like running but am trying to make it a habit–and hopefully fall in love with running–still hoping). I try to run year round, but when I get too busy, or sick, I have to stop or really slow down–like right now. And for the first time, it’s really bothering me.

  3. Year round cyclist, but I also take a break and cut way back after my ‘big’ ride, then I start picking up again in November with indoor training.. Mainly o hold off all the calories from the holidays.

  4. I am a year-round, four-season runner (Ann Arbor, MI). Main racing seasons for me are February-June and September-December, so that’s when I run the most, but I run at least twice in any given week. The only times I take a break from running entirely is after a marathon. Then it’s easy bike rides for a couple of weeks.

    Jeff

  5. Nice to hear from you again, have missed your posts. I’m a year round runner but just of late I’ve been having two rest days a week instead of one. Nothing wrong with taking a break :) listening to your body and taking some rest sounds like a sensible thing to do.

  6. An, that’s a great question… I used to run year round. Then I tried taking a week or two a few times a winter and I ended up too stressed out… Next I took up cycling too and I can work out 4-5 days a week year round and I’m a lot happier for it.

  7. I wish I were a year round runner :( I usually start running everyday by the end of spring and summer, but I find that you need to take a break, your body needs that break. This is were yoga comes in :) But if you you still find yourself needing that time, how about a light jog or walk?

Leave a Reply

